Skip to content

Search the site

Click to enlarge

Tomorrow morning at 9, plan to join Mines Professor Donna Anderson and the Stewards of Golden Open Space for a Geology Field Trip.

Golden was a center of clay mining in northeastern Colorado for nearly 140 years. Clay came from two geologic formations: the Dakota Group and the Laramie Formation. The clays in the two formations had different mineral compositions, used for making different products. Fifteen clay mines existed in and around Golden, only one of which is now active.

The historic Cambria Lime Kiln along Kinney Run Gulch is the only restored lime-kiln in Jefferson County. It was built in 1879 by John Hodges as the first structure of his Cambria Brick and Tile Company. The Cambria Kiln was built with Lyons Formation sandstone from the cliff behind the kiln, on the east side of Kinney Run Trail. It was conveniently located near the “lime seams” also east of the Kinney Run Trail. It operated until 1892. 

In 2005, a City Council Resolution recognized “the unique geologic areas in the Eagle Ridge area, including the Dakota hog back, Cambria Lime Kiln, Kinney Run Trail, and riparian areas,” and designated them “as a geologic and environmental education park.”

Want to know more? Join Mines Professor, Donna Anderson, for a walk back through time to learn about the geology and mining history of Golden. We will meet at 9:00 am at the Shelton Elementary School parking lot.

Get a copy of the eBook, Golden Rocks: The Geology and Mining History of Golden, Colorado here

Please sign up by sending an email to and tell us how many in your party and a contact phone number.